Boy OH Boy

Boy OH 2 BOYS

Yes, you understood me correctly…..

Our family is growing by One.

Come the beginning of September we are expecting another BOY!

(Calculation: Theodore’s Birthday is August 8th baby is due September… Soooo 13 months apart… If he doesn’t show up early!!….eeek)

We are completely overjoyed and well a little overwhelmed. 6 1/2 months pregnant and way more than halfway through…..we are getting to the finish line and are still a little under prepared.

Why have we kept our surprise a surprise?

Well….to say the least we/I needed time.

We have always known Theodore would not be our only child but we still needed to process.

We needed time to understand and discover Theodore’s diagnosis and I needed time to relinquish fear. I kept setting milestones on what results I wanted before we announced we were having another child. However, no scan, test, or conversation could put my fear at ease.

Although, everything looks great with our little one and he is growing well, I believe I will be worried until this gift of ours is born ( standard for most moms expecting).

We are not any less excited about this baby than we were Theodore, but the feeling is different. I do not know if this feeling I have is because it is the second child and we literally do not have any time to prepare…….. OR if this feeling stems from fear of having another close in age to a child who has…….a lot of baggage.

Nonetheless, we announced the pregnancy to our family in the beginning, and we were weary about what their responses would be, we anticipated the worst.

…HOWEVER, they were excited…OVERJOYED to say the least.

When we saw this light in all of their eyes we knew that this second baby was yet, another blessing.

I still have fear that our second could have a rare chromosome deletion, but I have to release the fear and enjoy the rest of this pregnancy. I need to keep telling myself that each of our children are perfect gifts and know, even though I am not in control there has to be some type of plan.

Do we know having two babies 13 months apart will be a struggle?…….

YES, we are very aware!!!

Does having two babies that are basically immobile sound fun?……..

No, but we will do our best!

Do we know these boys will be our greatest joy and our biggest challenge?…….

YES

AND…….. we know this baby will be a gift not only to us but to Theodore. We know that he will push Theodore to his fullest. As we watch Theodore with his two nieces and in therapy, we see his drive to do more and know this will continue with his little brother. We see him grow everyday AND having another person on his team sounds ideal.

These boys will be our biggest treasure and we will love them equally. I pray they have the relationship and friendship that I have with my older sister and two younger brothers. This does not go without saying there will be moments of fighting and anger, but they will learn in their time how to apologize and make up. I hope they are each others NUMBER ONE advocates and each others hardest competition.

For now, less than three months out…I will, Report to Duty, in setting my mind at ease for our second child and I will embrace the journey. Nonetheless, we will be working tirelessly to be getting ready for baby NUMBER TWO. Since they are ALMOST Irish twins…we are preparing our lives…Yes, we pretty much have to have two of everything…and a double stroller. So on to the next adventure!!!!

Until Next Time,

Reporting to Duty

xox

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

