Finding New Shoes

Shoes have been a HUGE part of my life. When I am happy, sad or angry I buy shoes. Some of my shoes are pricey designer shoes and others are DSW clearance rack. I enjoy all types and sometimes I have even bought shoes when they are uncomfortable….Well because I needed them for an outfit or they were just too good to pass up.

When I open the doors to my shoes closet( as we are preparing our other spare room for #babymiller2) I realized there are several pairs that I have not worn in over 18 months.

Some are covered in dust, and others remain in their boxes in the dust cover. Each pair beautiful and unique in their own….BUT many of them make me anywhere from 2-6 inches and right now I don’t feel like juggling in heels.

However, my shoe closet is beginning to look a little different. Both literally and figuratively.

Life is different now as a mom and I need different shoes. I have realized that most of them do not make me any taller and most of them are practical. Do not get me wrong, I still deal with a little pain because I will never give up on a cute outfit or a great pair of shoes, but all shoes appear different to me.

During my pregnancy I was ignorant and I believed that after I was done having the baby I would resort back to my impractical shoes. I was wrong…life looks different.

Months went by after I had Theodore and some of the shoes I used to wear I still put on, but they have felt different. Some have felt unnecessary and others felt more exciting. When this happened, I knew my life had changed.

All mothers go through change and now I understand. Change has been needed in our lives and I admit that becoming a mother has changed my life. Before Theodore I was adamant about staying who I was and not changing, and when he arrived I was a little sad about the new me. It was confusing, sad and frustrating.

When I gave in to the change and differences, I began to understand I have changed and it was needed to become a better me. I am still the same person BUT different. None of this is bad, and at first it was uncomfortable. Nonetheless, I have embraced the change and made it a part of the new me. I believe this change has helped me accept the challenges we have faced and has prepared me for those we have not.

Now…..I think the heels on my old shoes would have broke, and my new d’Orsey flats and my Converse are standing pretty strong….

As we continue our journey with Theodore and #babymiller2 I know more change and shoes are to come, but I am prepared. I am never willing to turn down a new pair of shoes, and now I know they will look a little different.

A pair of shoes will always look different on my feet than they look on others. I never expect others to understand the difference or how they feel.

BUT…….I never want anyone to judge my shoes, because they are not walking in them or putting them away in my closet.

Standing in front of my closet I realize it is time to clean out the old, move over the old faithful and put away the new. I will Report to Duty, in accepting new styles and sizes and understand that the change is good. I will continue shoe shopping and working to be the mommy and the best me.

Until next time!!

Reporting to Duty

Xox

 

Leave a Reply

