My Sunscreen Review. 

I have been wearing sunscreen since I was teeny tiny. I know most of us have been but I was pretty much see through, so it was important. 

I used to hate sunscreen, like scream the entire time they put it on me…. and sometimes I began a fit before they started smearing it on. 
You couldn’t miss a spot on my body or else I would fry. You ask how that could happen but it has and that one spot you miss somehow finds the sun and gets toasted. Soo they put it on me in the nude…. HOW FUN!! 

Also, because of my sensitive skin and it was the early 90’s many lotions irritated my skin or caused sun poisoning. This wasn’t anyone’s fault it was just what was available at the time. 

This experience has made me very picky about the sunscreen I put on as an adult and the sunscreen we put on our children. 

But in my eyes we had to find the “perfect” sunscreen. 

When Theodore was of right age, I got really worried about what we put on him. I wasn’t sure if something would affect his breathing or interact with his Chromosome deletion. I worried. We did our research and tried finding what was “acceptable” or “safe”. 

We do try to focus on keeping them in the shade and protected from the sun. We put hats and swim trunks on them that include SPF 50, but YES we also use sunscreen on our babes. 

Obliviously I am not a doctor but I am going to just give you my perspective and what I have learned from our docotor, research and experience. 

I knew we were NOT going to use aerosol sunscreen. I hate the smell and knew it couldn’t be safe. Theodore already had breathing issues and I knew that aerosol could not be good for little ones. Then I read aerosol sunscreen can get into their tiny lungs and the chemicals can affect them negatively. Plus they say aerosol doesn’t get great coverage…… So, this was not an option.

Next we made sure none of the products we used had oxybenzone, or retinal palmitate… Now, I didn’t just come up with these chemicals on my own, nor could I remember them without my research in front of me……BUT the first is a hormone distributor and the other could cause sun sensitivity… so watch out. 

Some sunscreens we tried were too thick, some made his skin break out, others made his eye swell up. When this occurred I became very worried. We stopped trying what others worked and focused on what would work for him. 

Then I decided to put on him what I had the best experience with myself during pregnancy. This was Neutrogena Clear Sheer. We have tried SPF 30 and 45 and from my experience that is the strongest you need. You just need to make sure you reapply every couple hours to keep from burning or sun damage. 

This particular sunscreen is significantly light, doesn’t have a strong smell and has never broke me out.  It is also “Broadspectrum” meaning it protects you from UVA and UVB…..which in my standards is pretty great!! 

When I tried this on Theodore I noticed the same, it went on smooth and he had no issues. No breakouts and no eye swelling. When the the time came I tried the same on Oliver and again, GREAT!!! 

This sunscreen is fantastic! 

The only other kind we have tried Neutrogena Pure & Free. This is 50 SPF and I purchased it because I wanted something stronger for Oliver because he is more fair. This particular kind is thicker and very hard to put on, the boys hate it BUT is does great at protecting their skin. This particular sunscreen doesn’t have a smell and doesn’t break either of the boys out. 

Reviews say anything stronger than 50 is unnecessary… because it “gives people a false sense of security”…..so again just remember to reapply every couple hours. 

The only other product we use on the babes is the Coppertone Sunscreen Stick. This product has been in my beach bag since I was little and will be for a long time coming . 

It is great for little faces, particularly the nose and ears because it doesn’t run off. It also needs to be reapplied occasionally but it “Sticks”. It contains no harmful chemicals and has worked great. 

We will stick with Neutrogena Clear Sheer  and Neutrogena Pure & Free because how smooth and easy it is applied, and how protected it keeps our babes. As of now I have only spotted these  particular lotions in this brand in SPF 30, 45 and 50 which works for us but may not work for others. 

All of these products I have mentioned you can find at most drug stores, and big box stores for example: Target , Wal-Mart , Walgreen’s etc etc. 

I hope you all do your research and are able to find a great sunscreen to keep you and your kiddos safe from the sun. I want this one to be a great summer for you all and I want you all to be safe from the sun and harmful CHEMICALS.  Definitely, be careful and read what is in the product. A product that works for us may not work for you and your family. 

I will, Report to Duty, and keep my kids and loved one safe in the sun!!

Until Next Time
Reporting to Duty
Xox

Leave a Reply

